Topic: Master Master Setup

Hello,

first of all I would like to introduce my self in the community

I am an IT Manager In a Financial Company.

Currently I have one node of iredmail and would like to setup a second one to work as master master .

the specific server is only responsible sending out emails to our clients on a daily base.

on my DNS records I have the following

domain.mx.    60    MX    Mail Server: mail.domain.mx. | Priority: 0   
12    domain.mx.    60    MX    Mail Server: mail.domain.mx. | Priority: 10

currently both MX records point to the same server and would like to setup another server that will be the second one with priority 10

I will then change the setting of the mx records to be like the following
domain.mx.    60    MX    Mail Server: mxnode1.domain.mx. | Priority: 0   
12    domain.mx.    60    MX    Mail Server: mxnode2.domain.mx. | Priority: 10

in order to achieve the above setup I need to setup a new instance of iredmail with exact same settings as mxnode1 but do I need to cluster it ?

also if you have anything else to suggest please feel free!

----

Spider Email Archiver: On-Premises, lightweight email archiving software developed by iRedMail team. Supports Amazon S3 compatible storage and custom branding.

Re: Master Master Setup

*) If the priorities are not the same, they're primary server and backup mx. Sender server will always connect to the server which has higher priority, and ignore others.

*) I'm not quite sure whether you need master-master setup, but it looks like you need a fail-over cluster, or a simple backup mx without cluster. smile

so a simple backup mx without cluster meaning same server as the primary only it will take over in case the primary is down right?

If you have 2 MX records with different priorities in DNS for the same mail domain, the one with higher priority is called primary server, the one which lower priority is called backup mx.