Topic: Newbie questions about Amavis/Spamassassin

==== Provide required information to help troubleshoot and get quick answer ====
- iRedMail version: 0.7.4
- Linux/BSD distribution name and version: Debian Squeeze
- Any related log? Log is helpful for troubleshooting.
====

Hi there,

I am new to iRedmail, before I used Exim4 on Debian without DB, only system users.
I have some questions regarding how Spamassassin runs on an iRedmail system:

spamd is not running, so spamc is not called but instead spamassassin is run directly, right?

I guess Amavis runs spamassassin, in which config file do I find that? I did not find the string "spamassassin" under /etc/amavis/conf.d

As which user is spamassassin run? I want to use sa-learn and it must be run as the same user.

I see in local.cf that bayes is activated and also autolearn. Where are the bayes info stored? When using system users it is in ~/.spamassassin

Thanks for sheding any light on me ;-)

Oliver

----

Spider Email Archiver: On-Premises, lightweight email archiving software developed by iRedMail team. Supports Amazon S3 compatible storage and custom branding.

Re: Newbie questions about Amavis/Spamassassin

okoetter wrote:

1. spamd is not running, so spamc is not called but instead spamassassin is run directly, right?
2. I guess Amavis runs spamassassin, in which config file do I find that? I did not find the string "spamassassin" under /etc/amavis/conf.d

SpamAssassin will be invoked by Amavisd-new directly. Daemon 'spamd' is not running, this is working as designed.

okoetter wrote:

3. As which user is spamassassin run? I want to use sa-learn and it must be run as the same user.

It's running as Amavisd user, configured in amavisd.conf: $daemon_user.

okoetter wrote:

4. I see in local.cf that bayes is activated and also autolearn. Where are the bayes info stored? When using system users it is in ~/.spamassassin

It should be under /var/libs/amavis by default.

ZhangHuangbin wrote:
okoetter wrote: