Topic: integration with Windows Domain

Hi there,

First of all. This is my first post here! Welcome you guys! Ive been using iredmail for the last 2 years and Im still impressed how easy and smooth it is. I dont know how I was able to set up mail server before without it!

The question: For the first time, I would like to integrate iredmail with Windows Active Directory. It will be used to authenticate mail users against windows domain. Ive red the document regarding the integration located here: http://www.iredmail.org/wiki/index.php? … y.iRedMail but I still dont get one thing. The document assumes that the windows domain and mail domain is the same (example.com). What should I change or take into consideration, if my windows domain is: mydomain.local and the mail domain is: myotherdomain.com? What if I have two mail domains and all users should be able to recieve emails from both domains?

regards,
Adrian

----

Spider Email Archiver: On-Premises, lightweight email archiving software developed by iRedMail team. Supports Amazon S3 compatible storage and custom branding.

Re: integration with Windows Domain

aaddiikk wrote:

What should I change or take into consideration, if my windows domain is: mydomain.local and the mail domain is: myotherdomain.com?

You have to modify LDAP query files of Postfix (/etc/postfix/ad_*.cf) and Dovecot (/etc/dovecot-ldap.conf).
For example, in Postfix LDAP query file:
- '%s' will be substituted by full email address
- '%u' is local  part of the email address
- '%d' is domain part of the email address

So, to use (and hard-code) a different mail domain name, please replace '%s' in Postfix LDAP query files by '%u@myotherdomain.com'.

Reference:
- Postfix manual page, ldap_table(5): http://www.postfix.org/ldap_table.5.html
- Dovecot Variables: http://wiki.dovecot.org/Variables (It's %u, %n (the same as %u in Postfix), %d).

aaddiikk wrote: