Topic: help to configure iredmail server for internet use

Hi,
I am newbie here, even though I have installed iredmail in a machine( Ubuntu10.04 desktop edition 64-bit fresh install) behind router having private address '192.168.1.10' and host name as 'server' and fqdn is 'server.xyz.com', I can say it is very easy to install and working fine.
Now I have assigned a task to use the same server for our company as a mail server, we already registered our domain xyz.com with yahoo, and mx record is pointing to yahoo servers (even yahoo is acting as our mail server).
We have one static public ip adress, and we are using a router and I am aware of forwarding any traffic from router to my local system.

In this scenario what I have to do?
As per my assumptions i need to go to yahoo domain control panel and add an 'a' record for server.xyz.com and in my mx record I need to replace "yahoo server" with server.xyz.com and in my router all my email traffic like pop,smtp,imap should be redirected to my local 192.168.1.10 server.

Please correct me if I am wrong in the above assumption, and please let me know that is there any necessity of our own dns server(for dkim and spf).
I don't mind even if you people redirect me to any link or links .. smile

Regards
siddartha

----

Spider Email Archiver: On-Premises, lightweight email archiving software developed by iRedMail team. Supports Amazon S3 compatible storage and custom branding.

Re: help to configure iredmail server for internet use

There's one problem with router: All mails will be considered as coming from your router, not from other servers.
It's not good for anti-spam.

Also, DKIM and SPF are highly recommended. In SPF record, you should use IP address of router as mail server address.

ZhangHuangbin wrote:

There's one problem with router: All mails will be considered as coming from your router, not from other servers.
    It's not good for anti-spam.

In that case what is the best idea to overcome that problem?