Topic: phpLDAPadmin Login fails after fresh install

Hi all. I'm new to iRedMail and new to the forums, but I did run searches on everything related to this issue (which is the only way I got iRedMail up and running at ALL, so thanks in advance).

This is a fresh install of mail and admin. I set the LDAP manager password during the config, and set it again later just to make sure I had it correct. However, when I try to log in to phpLDAPadmin, I get these errors:

.Unable to connect to LDAP server My LDAP Server
Error: Invalid DN syntax (34) for user

.Failed to Authenticate to server
Invalid Username or Password.

I've googled for this and searched these forums, but can't find anything that makes sense. I don't really know anything about LDAP. (I wanted to install the mysql-backend version, but after getting through the ENTIRE INSTALL and having NOTHING work, I found a forum post from 2009 saying that mysql-backend was no longer supported. WHY is it even an option in the install, then??)

Anyway - I don't even know what logs I should be looking in for this to find any leads. Any help would be appreciated.

~Adam

----

Spider Email Archiver: On-Premises, lightweight email archiving software developed by iRedMail team. Supports Amazon S3 compatible storage and custom branding.

Re: phpLDAPadmin Login fails after fresh install

Semi-solved my problem.
In the slapd.conf file, I HAD this:

rootdn      cn=postmaster,dc=domain,dc=com
rootpw      2473829078snwodhwchifhew(hashed)

I was trying to log in with username: postmaster@domain.com, and unhashed password.

So I changed the slapd.conf to read this:

rootdn      cn=postmaster,dc=domain,dc=com
rootpw      unhashed-password

No luck with this.

So on a wild guess, I tried logging in using this whole string as the username: cn=postmaster,dc=domain,dc=com instead of postmaster@domain.com, and IT WORKED.

So can anyone maybe explain why my conf file isn't translating cn/dn/dc into user/domain/com?

~Adam