Topic: AD integration issues

==== Required information ====
- iRedMail version: latest one
- Store mail accounts in which backend (LDAP/MySQL/PGSQL): LDAP
- Linux/BSD distribution name and version:  Debian Wheezy
- Related log if you're reporting an issue:
====

Hi

I'm a Windows-based system engineer and for a while I'm trying to find my way in the Open Source (free) community.Because of my limited Linux background, I tried several alternatives to replace an Exchange-based messaging environment, but I wasn't able to configure any of them properly with my current setup.

Right now, this is what I have (all on ESXi):
* An SMTP relay server with spam filter (Xeams) in DMZ
* A SAMBA4 AD controller in the back-end (Sernet version)
* A messaging server in the back-end

This week, I installed iRedMail in an attempt to finally get the back-end messaging server operational without days of troubleshooting. And I got pretty far, in a sense that I can authenticate to the messaging server (with Thunderbird or through RoundCube). However, I'm having difficulties with the differences between the mail and AD domains.

My AD domain can be defined as internal.domain.com. All accounts in there have the format xxxyyy (hash based on the actual name). In their mail address field, their e-mail is defined as firstname.lastname@domain.com.

In RoundCube, I can login with xxxyyy (which is ok, although the a-mail address would be nice), but then it also shows the mailbox as xxxyyy@domain.com. So the suffix is already ok, but the username is not. When trying to send a mail in Thunderbird, I get an error "5.7.1 <firstname.lastname@domain.com>:Sender address rejected.: not owned by user xxxyyy@internal.domain.com".

So, basically I need to find a way to link both names to one entity. I guess this is something to fill in in the Postfix or Dovecot config files, but I can't find any post about this. Is this possible and if so, what would I need to specify?

Cheers

----