Topic: Configure Outlook to use iRedMail accounts

==== Required information ====
- iRedMail version: 0.8.3
- Store mail accounts in which backend (LDAP/MySQL/PGSQL): MySQL
- Linux/BSD distribution name and version: Ubuntu 12.04
- Related log if you're reporting an issue:
====

Hi.  Someone is trying to configure their Outlook to use an email account created with iredadmin.  The account works fine in roundcube.  I've never used Outlook before, so I'm not very familiar with is.

Apparently you need to give it the servername, smtp port, and pop3 port.  Which to use?

I'm guessing the servername is just the one I used when I installed iRedMail (e.g. mx.mydomain.com)

I did nmap on the VPS that's running the mailserver, and I see that
smtp is on port 25
pop is on port 110
pops is on port 995

He tried these ports, but said that outlook "Failed" (I'm not in the room with him, so I can't see exactly what he means).  I looked at this http://www.iredmail.org/wiki/index.php? … dMail/FAQ.

So do I need to open port 389 on the VPS to get Outlook to work at all?  Is there anything else I need to do serverside?  Anything I should know about Outlook (I remember when setting up postfix+dovecot from scratch one time there were configs that needed to be set in order for Outlook to work, but I'm not sure what the iRedMail default configs are like, i.e. if they are Outlook-friendly, though I should learn).

Thanks for any help.

----

Spider Email Archiver: On-Premises, lightweight email archiving software developed by iRedMail team. Supports Amazon S3 compatible storage and custom branding.

Re: Configure Outlook to use iRedMail accounts

Personally, i don't use Outlook myself, but here's config used in Thunderbird, hope it helps:
http://www.iredmail.org/wiki/index.php? … r.iRedMail

- You don't need to open port 389.
- iRedMail configures Dovecot to be Outlook friendly by default.

3 (edited by Pacopag 2012-12-18 02:39:58)